Labour Laws in India


Labour laws in India come under the concurrent list of the constitution of India . It means both State and Central Govt. have the power to constitute or amend labour laws as per their requirement.The relationship between employers and employees is governed by a huge and intricate body of law called labour law. These laws are intended to safeguard workers’ rights and interests as well as promote fair employment practices. Employment conditions, pay, labour disputes, social security, and other topics are all covered by India’s labour laws. An overview of some of the important components of Indian labour law is provided below:


Important Labour laws in India


1. Industrial Disputes Act, 1947: The Industrial Disputes Act of 1947 establishes procedures for resolving labor disputes and controls the terms of employment, layoffs, retrenchments. The process of conciliation and arbitration are also covered, as well as the registration of labor unions.

2. Factories Act of 1948: This legislation outlines rules for the welfare, safety, and health of factory workers. It addresses topics including working hours, breaks between tasks, paid annual leave, and safety precautions.

3. Minimum Wages Act, 1948: The Minimum Wages Act of 1948 establishes the minimum wages that employers are required to pay to different kinds of employees. By area and type of job, minimum salaries differ.

4. Payment of Wages Act, 1936: This law controls how and when wages are paid to employees. It also makes sure that no unauthorized deductions are made.

5. Trade Unions Act, 1926: The Act regulates the creation and registration of trade unions as well as their duties and rights. The representation of workers’ interests by trade unions is essential.

6. The Contract Labour (Regulation & Abolition) Act,1970: This law controls the use of contract labour and aims to protect workers from exploitation and enhance their working circumstances. Therefore, this act was formed to regulated contract labour work.

7. Equal Remuneration Act, 1976: The Act forbids wage and employment disparities between men and women for the same or similar jobs.

8. Child Labour (Prohibition and Regulation) Act, 1986: This law forbids hiring kids for some dangerous jobs and controls the working environment for kids in other jobs.

9. Payment of Bonus Act, 1965: This law requires that all qualified employees receive an annual bonus.


Social Security Laws for Workers 


10. Employees’ Provident Fund and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1952: The Employees’ Provident Fund Organisation (EPFO), which oversees employee provident funds, pension plans, and insurance, is created by this act.

11. Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948: The Act offers health benefits to workers and their families in the event of sickness, pregnancy, disability, or death.

12. Maternity Benefit Act, 1961: The Maternity Benefit Act of 1961 guarantees pregnant female employees maternity leave and other benefits.

13.Payment of Gratuity Act,1972: Under this act , employee gets monetary reward for his long service with the company and minimum service is 5 years.

14.Employees’ Compensation Act,1923: Employee gets compensation in case of temporary or permanent disablement and in case of death.


Important Note


The Central Government has merged the maximum labour acts into 4 codes. But these four codes are yet to be implemented. It was delayed as all state governments are required to pass rules related to all four codes from their assemblies. Now, most states have formed rules as per their state requirements, and we are hoping to implement these acts soon.



Get in Touch With Us

    Book A Free Trial Now!

    [fluentform id="3"]